- Please enter your username on the Yahoo Delete My Account page. Then, to deactivate your account, follow the prompts.
- Contact British Telecommunications (BT) directly to close a Yahoo Mail Premium account.
- Automatic charges associated with your Yahoo account are not canceled when you close your account.
This article will show you how to unsubscribe from a Yahoo email account. The instructions are for Yahoo Mail’s web browser version.
Check Out: How to Delete MiChat Without Email
How to Delete Your Yahoo Mail Account
You can deactivate your Yahoo Mail account and revoke access to your email address, as well as delete all of your emails and block people from messaging you.
Enter your username on the Yahoo Delete User page. Next should be selected.
If you don’t see an option to cancel your account and think you might have a BT Yahoo Mail account instead, see below.
You can recover your forgotten Yahoo Email password if you’re not sure what it is.
Please type in your password. Yahoo will send a message to your mobile phone to authenticate you if you have an Account Key set up.
Read the text on the page titled “Please consider the following information before continuing.” It explains what you’ll lose if your Yahoo Mail account is deleted. Make a press release. Please keep deleting my account.
Fill in your email address once more in the provided field.
- Choose Yes; this account should be closed.If you see a message that says, “Your account has been deactivated and scheduled for deletion,” you know it worked.
- Push the button. I was able to get it to return to Yahoo’s home page.
Yahoo may not actually remove everything for up to 180 days in some cases, but this is largely dependent on the country from which you signed up. Data associated with a Yahoo Finance Premium account may be stored for up to three years.
What Does It Mean to Delete a Yahoo Mail Account?
Not only will your emails be deleted, and you will lose access to your account, but you will also lose access to your My Yahoo settings, your Flickr account and photos, and other data stored in Yahoo’s services if you delete your Yahoo Mail account.
Anyone who attempts to send an email to the address after you close your Yahoo Mail account will receive an immediate delivery failure message. To avoid any confusion or concern, notify your friends and contacts that you are about to close your Yahoo Mail account — both from the email address you intend to use in the future (so they can easily reply to reach you) and from your Yahoo Mail address (to make sure the message is received).
If you have any Yahoo subscription services, make sure to cancel them first to avoid any unexpected payments. If you have a Flickr Pro membership, the same applies.
How to Cancel a BT Yahoo Mail Premium Account
You could not cancel your Yahoo Mail account using the Yahoo Mail account termination page if you received it from British Telecommunications (BT). You can, however, request that your Yahoo Mail Premium account be deleted directly from BT.
Read Also: Yahoo Mail or Ymail | Yahoo Mail 2021 Update
Things to Remember
When it comes to deleting your Yahoo account, there are a few things to keep in mind:
- What will my Yahoo Mail User Name and Email Address be? Others will be able to use your username and email address in the future, so they may receive messages intended for you if senders continue to use your old email address.
- Is it possible to reactivate a deactivated Yahoo Mail account? Yes, even if you’ve marked your account for deletion, you can reactivate it. Log on to a deleted Yahoo Mail account within 30 days of its deletion to reopen it. This can be done using the regular Yahoo Mail web page. You can start receiving emails again once you’ve reactivated the account, but you won’t be able to see any emails that were sent to the account while it was closed.
- What Happens to Emails Sent to My Yahoo Mail Address When I Close My Account? Senders attempting to message your deleted Yahoo Mail account’s address will receive a delivery failure message in the meantime (starting as soon as you close your account).