How to Delete Your eBay Account
The instructions in this article will show you how to delete your eBay account. It provides specifics on the conditions you must follow before deleting your account, as well as guidance on how to deactivate rather than uninstall your account.
How do I get rid of my eBay account?
Before you start closing the account, double-check that all is in order:
- You do not owe any money to customers, sellers, or the website itself. Before you can close your account, you must pay all fees and have a zero balance.
- There must be no unresolved suspensions or limitations on your account.
- You are not allowed to actively bid on any products. If that’s the case, either cancel those bids or wait until the auction is over before closing your eBay account.
You’re ready to delete your eBay account if you check any of those boxes. The measures are as follows:
- Sign in to your eBay account by going to the eBay homepage.
- Pick the Account tab from the My eBay menu.
- From the right-hand side, select the Close my account link.
- You’re taken to a help page that does all it can to convince you not to delete your info. Continue with the instructions below if you’re dead set on deleting your account.
- Read through the measures under the Closing your eBay account heading to ensure you meet the requirements. Select the blue send a request to close your account text when you’re ready.
- After that, you’ll be asked to explain why you’d like to close your account. Pick your explanation from the drop-down menu and, if asked, a more detailed reason.
- Continue is the alternative.
- eBay may be able to assist you in resolving the problem without closing your account. If you’re set on closing your account, choose No, please close my account from the drop-down menu and then choose Proceed again.
- On the last tab, read the details about closing your account. When you’re ready, check the box to confirm that you’ve read everything, and then press Proceed one more time to confirm the deletion.
- eBay receives your request to close your account. Within 24 hours, you will receive an email confirmation of receipt. If you haven’t made any transactions or sold anything in the last 60 days, your account will be closed in 30 days. If you’ve used the account later, it’ll stay open for another 60 days.
- You can change your mind at any point during the grace period, but the account will be deleted once it expires. You’ll need to build a new account if you want to use eBay again.
When I delete my eBay account, what happens?
When you start the process of deleting your eBay account, it does not happen right away, but it is a permanent move if you complete it. You can no longer buy or sell on the web, and you lose all of your reviews as well as your purchase and sales history valuable knowledge if you forget when or where you purchased something, or who sold it to you.